Country-Style Baked Lima Beans

I got this recipe from Cooking Light Magazine.
Country-Style Baked Lima Beans

Ingredients:
2 cups dried lima beans
3 bacon slices, chopped
1 cup onion, chopped
1 cup carrot, finely chopped (1 large)
2 cups water
2 tbsp butter, softened
1 tsp salt

Directions:
Sort and wash beans; place in a large Dutch oven. Cover with water to 2” above beans; cover and let stand 8 hours or overnight. Drain the beans. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 300°.

Cook bacon in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat until crisp. Remove bacon from pan with a slotted spoon; set aside. Add onion and carrot to drippings in pan; sauté 5 minutes or until golden. Add beans, bacon, 2 cups water, butter, and salt; stir well.

Cover and bake for 2½ hours or until beans are tender, stirring every hour.

Makes 8 cups.

Nutrition Information:
Calories: 248
Fat: 7g (Sat 3g)
Cholesterol: 13mg
Carbohydrates: 35g
Sodium: 404mg
Protein: 12g
Fiber: 11g
This was really good. I don’t have too much to say about it because I didn’t really change anything about the recipe. It’s really good the way it is.
The only bad thing about it is that you really have to plan out when you are going to make it. I forgot about soaking the beans until about 8:30 am the day I had planned to have them for supper. I went ahead and soaked them, but then I forgot about them again until 4:00 in the afternoon. I didn’t have time to cook the bacon and sauté the onion and carrot and then cook the whole thing for 2½ hours. So I drained the beans, placed them in a Ziploc bag, and stashed them in the fridge. I made them the next day. And that turned out fine, except I think they didn’t need the whole 2½ hours to cook. I probably could have taken them out at 2 hours. So check them at 2 hours to see if they need more time.

Leave a comment